The Bristol Press – New Britain Museum of American Art to Host Nor’Easter: The 52nd Annual Jury Members’ Exhibition


NEW BRITAIN – The New Britain Museum of American Art will host Nor’Easter: The 52nd Annual Jury Members’ Exhibition and is delighted to announce the full list of accepted artists and works.

The next Nor’Easter will take place from August 11 to 28. The Northeast Region showcase highlights the work of emerging and established artists in all media.

Works selected this year include: Lynne Arovas – A Nervous System; Nancy Boudreau – Walnut Hill Park Ledger’s Way entrance; Donald Bracken – New Dawn; Jim Bremer – Roadster Toaster; Wendy Brusick – Ava; William Butcher – The Blue Table; Christine Greenwood Chair – Distrust; Amy Conover – RSVP; Cynthia Cooper – Lime Retraction; Daniel Delaney – Rail Yard, Thomaston, Connecticut, 2022; Mariah Doren – Registry: Fix; William Evertson – Consumed by the Never Was; Michael Fanelli – Liquid Flight; Elise Fechtmann – Thoughtful; Terry Feder – The Irish Cottage; Joe Gaylor – Capitol Avenue Walk; Angela Godoy – Arian; Danuta Syp Gordon – Hidden treasurers of Danuta; Maria Gray – Lacrimosa; Geri Hahn – Everything changes with the seasons; Caroline Harman – Grandfather Mountain; Leonard Hellerman – A Walk in the Park; Deborah Hornbake – Fairly lighthearted; Eric Hovermale – adrift; Karen Israel – Venus Rising; Christine Ivers – Contemplating Isabella; Joan Jardine – Blue #2; KK Kozik – Crosswalk; Michael Kozlowski – Wait; David Lang – The Path; Nancy Lasar – Nutt and Bolts ’22; Ross Lewis – Villa Wangchuan; Linda Lindroth – Extra Strong Thinking; Robert Loebell – Insurrection #1; Joan McPherson – Galleria on a rainy day; Phyllis Meredith – Top of the World; Nancy Moore – If weapons were flowers…; Cynthia Mullins – Silver and Black; Tatyana Nadgor – Pandora; Tim Nighswander – Lily #7; Nancy Oates – Life is; Heidi Palmer – Reverie; Linnea Pergola – Summer Goulash; Jeanne Carol Potter – Clear Jars with Silver Lids; Heather Ramsdale – Tocsin; Reggie Raye – Cypress Lamp; Russell Ritell – Karmic Necromance; Chip Rutan – Self-Portrait; Barbara Scavotto-Earley – Exodus; Ellen Schiffman – What was, still is, will be; Peter Seltzer – The Seekers; Mara Sfara – Captain Bear King of the Space Voyagers; Marlene Siff – Legato; Mary Smeallie – Soho Glass; John C. Starinovich – Button Eye; Rashmi Talpade – Pandemic Series IV – Loss; Hui Tian – Chris Stein, Debbie Harry and Andy Warhol; Mari Tuckler – Measuring Distance at Trader Joe’s; Jill Vaughn – Braided; June Webster – The day is over; Margaret Wilson – Helen, Out of the Blue #96; Milena Wilton – Uncertain; and Michael Yurgeles – Uprooted I.

Five prizes will be awarded, including First, Second, Third, Jury Prize and Visitors’ Choice.

This year’s juror was Anna Swinbourne, PhD, executive director and CEO of the Hill-Stead Museum in Farmington. She is a trustee of the Hill-Stead Museum and a member of the Art Advisory Committee of the King Baudouin Foundation United States. Ms. Swinbourne is also an independent art historian, curator and art consultant engaged in a variety of publishing, exhibition and art market activities. His current and recent projects include a collector’s catalog for the late David Rockefeller; an exhibition on the landscapes of Paul Cézanne for the Princeton University Art Museum in 2020; and with honorary co-chairs, Agnes Gund and Oprah Winfrey, the first-ever all-female auction at Sotheby’s New York on March 1, 2019, in support of financial aid for Miss Porter’s School.

The New Britain Museum of American Art also uses Nor’Easter as an opportunity to exhibit contemporary visual art to a wide audience. The museum located at 56 Lexington St. is the first institution dedicated solely to the acquisition of American art. The NBAMA offers exciting and relevant exhibits that help bring a little more information and beauty to the community and the world. They also offer free, low-cost after-school art programs and classes for kids.

Ciara Hooks can be contacted at [email protected]

Posted in The Bristol Press, General News on Friday, July 22, 2022 10:35 AM. Updated: Friday July 22, 2022 10:37.